Learn Code

I have started attending an elective class, with grade 7-9s, called  Design.Code.Play

It runs from September through til the end of January (first semester). Thus far I have attended three classes. We are learning / using SCRATCH. I am off to a slow start. It will get better. I am amazed at the speed with which the other students are learning this. A good few of them are not starters and the teacher, my colleague, wants them to help the others. So I am glad about that. And she encourages me to ask them for help. And I will.

And here is my first project, please see below.  btw: I needed the teacher, my colleague, to help me understand the embeding.  Ok, that spelling is embeDDing. New word for me. Double the consonant d. This I am comfortable with – English grammar and spelling.

So about the embedding: I needed to copy the project’s embed code while in Scratch, but once on my blog, I needed to click on html (leaving visual). Then paste in the embed code. Now I know. I had first tried several times on my own and it failed, so I asked for help.
//scratch.mit.edu/projects/embed/119734425/?autostart=false

***********************************************************
Today’s design code play class is about designing (own) and playing (another’s) game.
So my design is below. The oval is an input command. The arrows join. The diamond holds a question. The rectangles have steps. So that is a start.
game-design-1
The game I played (a student showed me how) is on Scratch. Pong on Scratch (this particular one by Jack Fletcher). So it is basically ping pong. And I’d be better, I think, with a mouse other than my tablet mouse. I have successfully embedded it below, using html. Looks like anyone can play it here (?) Try clicking on the green flag.

//scratch.mit.edu/projects/embed/88539160/?autostart=false

btw: Another student, via Scratch, showed me a bit about Minecraft (videos that kids have added in  Scratch, I understood).  I had told him that I see the topic of Minecraft a lot on Twitter – educators convinced that Minecraft is a great platform for schools to use.  Minecraft Education

I explained to the above student that I would like to find out about games that allow student to learn about sustainable cities. He said SimCity is an appropriate game.  SimCity

I am paying Twitter attention to marketing of games that have some connection to cities and also to sustainable development. I have never actually played a video game, but I am keen to follow the market re. the above-mentioned topics. For example: ECO_new game

*******************************************************************

September 19

I have attended about ten elective classes for : Design.Code.Play 2016-2017 Semester 1

I am now significantly less ignorant about coding. However, I will bring this classroom attendance to a close, now, with my first game design document. I am the project developer. It is about linking SS content and ESL leraning.

A-L FLYNN, EAP SS7 teacher’s  Game  /  App Design Document: Game Design document

Again, back to the original title of this blog: Interdisciplinary Education….It would be so great if we had an easy way to have (video and board) games produced for our content classes, integrating, obviously, language skills. Surely, there is a way for these connections to happen, simply, with the right coders…..who are working with teachers, who are working with students…. I hope I can communicate with prof Scott Nicolson Prof Scott Nicolson who leads Laurier’s programme: U. of Laurier’s Games Design Development Programme

 

Leave a Reply

